Hermine Tried and Failed

The craziest night of my life: my 3rd hurricane, 2nd in my hometown, and 1st as a wife and mama. Thanks to my husband, our friend who’s a former PJ special ops, and God, others’ lives were spared. 911 Emergency was not responding.

wp_20160902_009
From our front door, what we thought was a tree that took up most of our front yard was a branch off a tree from 60 feet up.  

Within 5 minutes: something hit the roof (now I figure a branch), our friend, “Chappy,” called my husband and was on our doorstep, we opened the door, and he burst in asking my husband for help – and to go 10 minutes up the road to load three people into the car and get them to our house to safety. A tree had sliced their townhouse in half, landing on the bed our friend was supposed to have slept on but chose the couch instead. The residents were terrified…too scared to stay, too scared to run. The same tree took out another family’s roof. Water was filling up the house, power lines were down, and all hell had broken loose. My husband and friend looked at me, told me to get our toddler and go to the safest room in the house – the hallway bathroom. I did. Thankfully, I got my family on the phone with me to help keep me calm. 

wp_20160904_004
The tree branch after it was cut down to the trunk.

 

 

 

About 10 minutes later, 3 people flooded into our foyer, carrying bags, a cat carrier, soaked through. My obedient son sat in the hallway bathroom with his dog, flashlight, snack and juice and peeked around the corner. My husband hollered a tree’s down in the yard. I asked if we had cars. He said yes. I said good and grabbed dry towels for everyone. My husband and Chappy went back to the house to rescue their 4 dogs.

wp_20160902_011
Four of the five dogs pictured here. All sweet pups. They were troopers. Our Cavalier King Charles Spaniel, Odysseus, shared his home well. 

Seven people, 5 dogs, and 3 cats later, we survived. Grateful for preparedness, our new generator, and can-do attitudes.

Always take the weather seriously. And get yourself a generator. 

wp_20160903_001
Coffee! Thanks to the generator, I had a fresh cup of brew the next morning. I was prepared to make “cowboy coffee” on the grill, however. 

Gratefully, Janellen

2 thoughts on “Hermine Tried and Failed

  1. Thank goodness you are all ok. I’ve only experienced one hurricane (Hurricane Sandy) and the sheer force of nature was frightening and amazing at once. Our house had minimal damage but the neighbors had trees in their bedrooms and such. No one was hurt, thankfully. I hope the clean up goes smoothly for you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

